A College Student Who Isn’t Involved in Politics

I don’t associate as a democrat or republican. I don’t get my news from a left or right source. I didn’t vote in the most recent election. I’m aware of what Donald Trump is doing to our country, and although I have my opinions about it, I don’t have any direct control over it. The only thing I can control is how I react to it. Quite frankly, I don’t care about politics, and judging by the last election, it seems that politics could care less about me, too.

If I had voted in the last election, it most certainly wouldn’t have been for Trump. I honestly don’t know who it would’ve been for because I didn’t pay enough attention to any of the candidates campaigns. I got my news from three places: Twitter, Facebook and the Google News homepage. I know I could easily invest my time in politics, but from my perspective, I don’t see a reason to. Let me put it this way: According to CNN, Hillary Clinton won the popular vote (48.2 percent) over Trump (46.1 percent). The people wanted Clinton, but our government voted Trump. What am I supposed to do about that?

I also found it interesting in that same poll by CNN that citizens in my age group (18-29) voted Clinton; however, 52% of males voted for Trump and 41% of males voted for Clinton. The demographics show that as age increased, votes for Trump increased as well. Sure, I could’ve been more informed of each campaign by reading news outlets, but again, in terms of the election, I don’t see what good it does me or anyone else if we don’t control the outcome of an election held in our own country.

I understand I could be the least bit informed, and I probably should be. I think given the last election, I will make an effort to be more informed for the 2020 election. However, as a journalist, I am aware of the fake news and the way publications can manipulate stories to swing one way or the other. This puts me in a tight spot because I am skeptical with almost everything I read.

The hot topic right now is Trump’s travel ban executive order. The big controversy is the fact that Trump is using 9/11 as justification for keeping people from certain countries out of the U.S. But none of the 9/11 terrorists came from one of the seven countries banned (Iran, Iraq, Syria, Libya, Sudan, Yemen and Somalia) — they were from Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates. At this point, someone as blind to politics as me is left scratching his head. Even though I didn’t agree with the executive order in the first place, this “justification” our president gives only makes my head spin even more.

And then there’s the alternative facts debacle. The first thing I think of when I hear the phrase “alternative facts” is something to the effect that 2+2=4, and so does 1+3. National Public Radio, or NPR, published an article titled, “This Week In Trump’s ‘Alternative Facts’,” and it’s helped me understand this whole fiasco. NPR, along with a slew of other news outlets, all tell me the same thing: the most powerful man in the world today is nothing more than a business man who can’t get his facts straight.

I didn’t grow up in a political household. It wasn’t at the forefront of my education and I certainly didn’t divulge any of my own time into the subject. In the near future, I’m going to be making a greater effort to be more aware of political situations both in the U.S. and around the world, but if the next election is anything resembling this past one, what little faith I have in politics will surely be gone.

Photo courtesy of Google Images.

Leave a Reply

